Fitting ethernet adapters across phases

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Mecca, 20 Apr 2017.

  1. Mecca

    Mecca

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We have a house on three phases, the main house on phase one and the guest house on phase two. TP Link socket adapters are used to send ethernet from the upstairs router to the ground floor. In order to get a data connection to the guest house we can fit two single sockets in the meter cupboard, one on phase one and one on phase two, marked <400v>, and then fitting TP Links in each one. In the phase one socket is the receiving TP Link from upstairs. In the phase two socket is the transmitting TP Link to the guest house. So far, no problem as the phases are separate. But is there an issue in connecting the two TP Link adapters in the meter cupboard with an Ethernet cable to send the signal from phase one to phase two and on to the guest house? Not a scenario I've seen before. I hope this makes sense to someone.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. endecotp

    endecotp

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    3,950
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe there should not be a significant potential difference between the earths in this case, so there will be no problem.

    Even if there were, Ethernet is galvanically isolated, i.e. it has transformers, and should survive hundreds of volts of earth potential difference. The danger of someone touching the end of the wire and getting a shock is an issue long before the device stops working.

    In cases when you want better isolation, use fibre optics.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Mecca

    Mecca

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply. I'd be interested to know if there are any BS7671 regulations on this.
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    26,041
    Thanks Received:
    2,595
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,912
    Thanks Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for the link, I am having problems at the moment with my central heating, it may well be due to interference from power line technology, where the problem lies is some one like me complains then Ofcom arrives, and some poor unsuspecting neighbour is told don't use those any more, we are taking them for safe disposal, and then all sorts of things fail due to no internet connection. Which could very well be their central heating.

    I know my son put a LAN socket at every radiator ready to fit eTRV's at latter date, but then found you simply can't buy hard wired eTRV's it's wireless or nothing. It seems mine use the 70 cm band, which is shared so some one can be transmitting at 25W which will likely knock out the milliwatt used by eTRV's.

    As to why they are not simple WiFi and need a hub to connect to, and don't connect direct to router I don't know. The problem is what is sent is secret, clearly the hub programmes the eTRV but how much is sent day to day and how much is stored in the eTRV I don't know. Cheap ones store it all local you don't have any coms, you set it on the valve head it's self.

    There is a odd situation in the UK, I can sell radio equipment to anyone, so can any shop, unlike a gun where the buyer has to have a licence to buy, anyone can buy radio equipment, in Hong Kong before the take over I had to show my radio licence to buy a radio, but not in the UK, it is the person using it who is committing an offence not the person supplying it. CB was a real problem, shops could sell items which they knew the buyer could not legally use.

    If I could work with all wired internet I would, however to day we don't have the option, I can't if I want to connect my mobile phone to the internet without WiFi, it has no LAN port. So we all have to think twice about any wireless device, if I buy some bluetooth head phones at £5 and then they get banned I am not that worried, if however I have spent £300 plus on central heating controls I am worried if they don't work or are banned.
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just dispose of the useless, hateful, things and do it properly.
     
  8. Mecca

    Mecca

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're not useless, they've been working fine before the house was changed to three phase. And to do the job 'properly' (assuming you mean ethernet cable) will cost thousands.
     
  9. endecotp

    endecotp

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    3,950
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since the materials are cheap and the skills needed are minimal, I presume you're referring to the costs of routing cables in difficult locations and repairing decorations afterwards. There is no easy way around this, but it should teach us all to future-proof work we do now - for example, if digging a trench to connect power or water to a shed, lay an empty conduit while you're at it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Nozzle

    Nozzle

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    2,240
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely for the adaptors to communicate with each other, they have to be on the same conductor. 3 Phase supply, by the very nature does not have the line connected together. That would go bang.

    Nozzle
     
  13. Mecca

    Mecca

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm getting plenty of info about interference issues here, but can anyone other than endecotp actually answer the question? Is there any reason why I can't link two units on separate phases with an ethernet cable? I don't mind if you don't know the answer.
     
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,328
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They work (sometimes), but they are electronic filth and should never have been allowed. Just because it will cost a bit (but I can't see how that would be thousands) to do it properly does not mean you have the right to pollute the RF spectrum and possibly cause interference to the emergency services.
     
  15. endecotp

    endecotp

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    3,950
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since I've answered the question, they don't need to repeat that answer. If anyone disagreed (apart from Nozzle, who seems to have got the wrong end of the stick), they would have posted.

    FWIW I agree with the others that these devices are unpleasant and best avoided. You say they're not useless, yet your own situation demonstrates one of several significant misfeatures of the technology.
     
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,328
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The reason is that to do so will cause interference and being reasonable people we don't want you to do that. I don't know if it will work either.
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page