1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fluke T130 on loose wires

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Jupiter01, 15 Apr 2021.

  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,990
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The above works very well when you are able to poke the probes into a terminal of some type but I struggle with this when there are loose wires that you want to test i.e. wires removed from the socket terminals.

    Incidentally, my Fluke voltage stick is very good for this but I tend not to use that now that I have this 2 Pole Tester and a number of you have suggested that there are limitations to the voltage stick.

    Is there a particular technique with the 2 pole tester when used in the situation described?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,273
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tend to use a choc block, so no loose wires, too easy for loose wired to touch some thing they shouldn't.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,990
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you then push the choc bloc against the surface when testing with the probes? I suppose that's how we get decent contact
     
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,273
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It depends where and what I am testing, using a 12 way terminal block there is normally enough room to hold it, and in some cases I will screw onto meter leads.

    In the main testing is done dead, clearly loop impedance needs power, but most other tests are done dead.
     
  6. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make up connections to the meter with croc clips on the end.
     
  7. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,990
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry guys, what are meter leads and how are they relevant to this situation?
     
  8. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,287
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This could be good advice if there was more infomation on your intentions. Are you perhaps suggesting something like this except it's for a 2 probe tester?
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,990
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't own these clipped wires but happy to use the choc bloc method unless there are any significant limitations to that aproach.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use a wago 221 connector. Meter probe in one port, wire to be tested in the other.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  12. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could buy some or make some up could you not.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am suggesting leads with a banana plug on one end to fit the meter and a croc clip on the other end.
     
  14. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Leads with a banana plug for a meter which doesn’t have banana sockets. Classic Winston :LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,287
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Amazing how Totally wrong Winston1 is yet again.

    A little bit of education for you Winston1 as you OBVIOUSLY don't even know what a 2 pole tester is.
    A 2 pole tester has probes built in, it does not have banana sockets, it does not have removable leads.
    Yet again I'll ask you to not offer incorrect advice.
    Yet again I'll ask you to not offer advice on subjects you do not know about.

    Do you now see why you are repeatedly ridiculed and criticised by people who do know, and come on here to offer proper advice?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,986
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WHY DO YOU LIE, LIE, LIE? The meter you show in post 7 (which is one type of 2 pole tester) clearly has removable leads. I have not offered incorrect advice (I never do), and I DO know what I am talking about.
    The only education I need is to learn why you are such a plon***.
     
  17. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,475
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought it was called a multimeter?
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page