Fobco star pillar drill

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone
I have just bought an old pillar drill for my shed... Fobco star bench drill. I have watched videos on YouTube o. How to change the speed of the drill, loosening the motor and pulling it forward towards the chuck end. The motor is already forward but the belt is really tight, and I can't get it off. I am very new to pillar drills and am lost in how to get the belt off. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks Steve

Sponsored Links
I’d guess the belt is a little on the short size, if all of the adjustment has been used up.
To get the belt off, try turning the chuck by hand, and with the other hand lever the belt upwards against one of the pulleys. The belt should ride up over the pulley edge and release itself.
Try simplybearings.co.uk to measure the belt length and width, maybe choose one a centimetre or two longer.
John :)

Hello everyone
I have just bought an old pillar drill for my shed... Fobco star bench drill. I have watched videos on YouTube o. How to change the speed of the drill, loosening the motor and pulling it forward towards the chuck end. The motor is already forward but the belt is really tight, and I can't get it off. I am very new to pillar drills and am lost in how to get the belt off. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks Steve

I bet you had fun carrying that to the shed, they are chuffing heavy.

Heavy is an under statement. Bargain for £20though
o_O:eek: I have bought the right size belt but I am unable to move the motor back to get tension on the belt. Any suggestions ?

Attachments

• fobco star.jpg
    fobco star.jpg
    494.1 KB · Views: 87
Sponsored Links