Forced marriages

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please don't dismiss this as spam. I'm a structural engineer who frequently reads this forum and I like to contribute when I can. This is a cause quite close to my heart which really is worth five minutes of your time.

A friend of mine runs a charity that supports victims of forced marriage, and are looking for people to support them by filling out a simple survey. I've just done it and it takes less than five minutes. They have been promised by an MP that if they can show enough support that they will push to make forced marriages illegal in the UK.

This is a massive step for a charity that runs a helpline for young women who are often being forced to go to a foreign country to marry a man they have never met, and who often will abuse them. If you have read one of Jasvinder Sanghera's books you will know that this is a serious problem. Kids being taken out of school and abused - and they are.

Please take some time to fill in the survey, and if you have any comments or feedback, please let me know and I will feed it back to them.

A bit about the charity: http://www.karmanirvana.org.uk/about-us/history

The survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/Home_Landing.aspx?sm=82En+c8TP+Zhau0LF5WhIEiVcb63Y6fT2EKARMEB6nY=

Sponsored Links
Forced marriages are already illegal within the UK.