Fuel bills or statements: a history and a question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello: Are there readers of this posting that, in these busy times, go to the trouble of checking the charges on their gas and electricity usage statements, as I do? If so, this may be of interest to you. If not, it will be just a bore. By the way, this is being posted in the UK.
Because I am an old man, I have been receiving gas and electricity bills for many, many years. It just seems to be my nature to check things — it’s not that my nature is untrusting. In all the years that I have been receiving and checking my fuel bills, never once have I found any inaccuracy in my bills/statements. (I know that the amounts — so many units, at so many pence per unit — are rounded up or down to the nearest penny.)
At a guess, it must be four or five years since my supplier (Co-operative Energy) was taken over by a bigger firm. In (approximately) four years of receiving statements from my latest supplier, the statements from them (the one that took over Co-op Energy) had always been “spot on”, when I have checked the arithmetic with my calculator.