Fuse Board to Consumer Unit?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good morning all,

I am buying a house to do up. It's my first time so please go easy on me. My real work is not that interesting to me these days, so I fancied a change, something to interest me and provide a challenge and, hopefully, to bring some decrepit property back into usefulness - it might work out, it might not.

In the cellar of this house, I took a photo of this (I've uploaded the full size image as I'm hoping the forum might allow you to see it all or zoom in for detail)...

37CSFuse.jpg

Now, the Vendor of the property said that the house had been "rewired a few years ago" but that doesn't make much sense to me... wouldn't you expect to see a nice Consumer Unit if that had been done, or do people sometimes do a rewire and still leave this kind of thing in place?

Anyway, I'm prepared to spend £s on rectifying things... my question is this... regardless of the rewire position, is the replacement of the thing that I see in the picture with something like ToolStation item #50454 the way to go (obviously by a professional, this is certainly not a job for me)?

http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Ele...ex+17th+Edition+Dual+RCD+Consumer+Unit/p50454

My second question is this... while I'm working on getting this property back into shape, I think there might be rooms where I consider extra sockets or light fittings would be very useful... is that kind of job a relatively simple thing to do when you're gutting a place, or does it really come under the remit of a "full rewire" and it be likely to cost several thousands of Pounds?

Any advice is, as always, appreciated...

Sponsored Links
I think the first thing you need to do is take a look in the loft and see if there is anything unusual up there!

Sponsored Links