1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Galaxy with Viper issue

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by batfinki, 19 Nov 2020.

  1. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello - appreciate anyone spending a minute to read this and offer some advice.

    I've moved into a house with an ADT Galaxy 2-20 system (v1.10). The system seems to have developed a fault with the Viper shock sensors which won't allow me to set the alarm. When I view the status in the menu system the other sensors show the resistance (eg. 23 ohms) but the shock sensors show as O/C. The sensors used to flash yellow/red but do nothing now. It appeared to start after I washed one of the windows. The casing is in pretty good condition but could water have penetrated and shorted it?

    Is there anything I can try to diagnose the issue and get the sensors working again? Is there a fuse or something?

    Hoping to avoid paying a hefty call out fee if there's something I can do. I'm pretty handy but this is the first time I've had an alarm system so I'm a bit lost for ideas.

    Thanks again for any advice.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would take the viper case off and inspect for water damage ....found this one on a service ... 6B32C368-60C1-4B08-B172-D716505C7765.jpeg
     
  4. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That looks bad! Nothing obvious on this one that I can see. 20201119_210530.jpg 20201119_210435.jpg
     
  5. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you own a multimeter ?
     
  6. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I do
     
  7. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Set on dc range check for 12v on viper terminals 5/6 counting from the bottom where the metal link starts and the one above ...
     
  8. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks very much for helping me out with this. Is that right? 20201119_215455.jpg
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No dc supply , either blown fuse or damaged cables
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for the info Mark. Really appreciate it.

    I can't imagine how the cables could have been damaged as they're so well protected in the walls and floor. Can I open the alarm box and replace the fuse or will this trigger a tamper alarm? Or is it time to ring an engineer?
     
  12. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it , it never set off the tamper when you removed the viper lid ?
     
  13. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Haha. I didn't even think of that as a danger! No, no alarm when I took the cover off the viper.
     
  14. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this the only shock sensor not working ?
     
  15. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They seem to be wired in a series of four. None of the four have power.
     
  16. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,178
    Thanks Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have any other powered devices ? Eg pirs
     
  17. batfinki

    batfinki

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah got PIRs throughout the house on different zones. All the other zones seem OK.
     
Loading...

Share This Page