1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive and Ideal Logic Combi 30

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Simon Dunne, 9 Jul 2021.

  1. Simon Dunne

    Simon Dunne

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    i am having real issues with connecting my new Hive receiver to my combi.
    i have a L&N link from boiler to the receiver and a cable in terminal 3 of the receiver to one of the terminals on the room stat connectors. the hive is telling the boiler to heat but no heat is coming on. any iddeas please? there is an internal timeclock in the boiler. does this need to be over ridden?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,073
    Thanks Received:
    2,426
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, set the clock to permanently on, and let Hive override it.
     
  4. Simon Dunne

    Simon Dunne

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that. I have done that now but the heating still will not come on.
     
  5. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    348
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a link between L and 1 in the receiver.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,073
    Thanks Received:
    2,426
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, sorry, don’t know how I missed that :oops: as per @Johnmdc you need a link between L and 1 or take it from the boiler room stat connection (you have 2 terminals - you have used one).
     
  7. Simon Dunne

    Simon Dunne

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers guys. Put the link in but it has blown the fuse in the pcb. I’ve got a few spares as I thought this might happen!!!!
    The pics below are how it’s wired at the moment.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,073
    Thanks Received:
    2,426
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t know where you got your cable from but it’s unusual to have or use 3 black wires to depict L N and SWL. You have a short circuit, so likely crossed a wire over somewhere.

    Trace all your wiring, or test if not accessible. Label them, or apply some insulation tape to relevant wires.

    Is it Hive single channel or dual channel you’re fitting?
     
    Last edited: 9 Jul 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    STOP if it is blowing fuses do not keep trying new fuses until you find out where you have went wrong
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why do you have 2 wires in terminal 3 of the hive receiver ?
     
  12. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,073
    Thanks Received:
    2,426
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good Spot! Totally didn’t see that.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @CBW Chris if he is doing it right each core of the black flex will have a number on the insulation so you know which is which at each end, only ever seen one heating system using that stuff, common in other industries, must have got the cable from a friend :rolleyes:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Simon Dunne

    Simon Dunne

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys
    It’s engineering cable. All cores are numbered so none of them are shorted anywhere. There is only one core in no.3. The picture is deceiving.
     
  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    start from scratch, L&N to L&N then the two wires for the thermostat, the two left hand terminals in your pic go to 1&3 on the hive , no links , simple as that
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Simon Dunne

    Simon Dunne

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks ianmcd. Will it go red to 1 and black to 3?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,521
    Thanks Received:
    9,721
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    doesnt matter either way will work , it is just a switch
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page