1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive wiring advice please

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by jarrah31, 11 Oct 2015.

Tags:
  1. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My current CH setup is a pressured sealed-system with a hot water tank and Worcester boiler. It has a Honeywell ST9400C programmer and a wireless Honeywell thermostat. Unfortunately the programmer is starting to fail (it keeps powercycling) so I'm looking to install the new Hive instead.

    This is how the setup looks:
    IMG_4478.JPG

    Programmer:
    IMG_4474.JPG IMG_4475.JPG

    Wireless receiver:
    IMG_4473.JPG IMG_4476.JPG

    Wiring box:
    Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 20.43.52.png

    I believe I have an S Plan wiring setup (because of the two separate valves), so the wiring diagram looks a bit like this:
    IMG_0096.PNG IMG_0097.PNG

    Question is, do I just swap out the programmer with Hive's dual-channel receiver? Do I need to do anything with the wireless thermostat receiver?

    I can see that the thermostat connects to pins 4 and 5, with pin 5 controlling the heating valve, so given that I no longer need the thermostat receiver, do I need to wire pin 5 to the new Hive somehow?

    Do I need to be concerned that there's no wires for CH and HW Off on the programmer?

    Thanks in advance!!!!!
    Paul.

    P.S. I'm open to better than Hive suggestions?
     
    Last edited: 11 Oct 2015
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,484
    Thanks Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hive unit replaces the programmer.
    The two wires to the thermostat receiver (A&B terminals) are connected together permanently.
    The programmer OFF terminals are not used on S plan.
     
  4. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Evohome is much better and expandable.
     
  5. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks! Simples! I wasn't sure what to do with the thermostat wires, so thanks for clarifying that!
     
  6. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did seriously consider the Evohome as it would be very useful controlling temps in each room, but along with costing ~£600 for my 9 rads and the dated looking control unit (looks like an old, wide bezeled CRT), I'm opting for the cheaper solution for the moment, and then perhaps upgrade to the next generation Evohome when the Hive fails. :)
     
  7. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bonkers considering you already have a BDR in the system.




    Champagne ideas beer money.



    The base unit can be put in a discrete location and a T87rf used as a room sensor.
     
  8. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm intrigued, though I'm not sure what a BDR is? Googling seemed to point to BDR Thermea, but don't know if that's part of my Worcester boiler or not?

    Regarding the T87RF, shame I can't use my existing wireless thermostat as its so very similar to this newer one. Seems a waste if going for the Evohome. :)
     
  9. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bdr is the wireless receiver. What thermostat do you have?

    If it is the DTS92E then it is compatible. Just leave your existing timer on constant.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, DTS92E. So the T87RF wouldn't be required? Do I need a unit to control hot water still?

    Can I get away without buying the Evohome Wifi Controller? Shame you can't replace it with a smartphone or iPad app.

    Trouble is though, my Honeywell programmer/timer is faulty as it keeps sporadically power cycling, so need some sort of replacement.
     
  12. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Too many combinations

    T87 and rfg100 give heating (not hot water) time and temperature control through the app. Hit water can be timed, if left on constant through existing timer (or replace).


    Wifi base unit IS Evohome. So yes you would need that for the Evo option . Hot water is optional though.

    The base unit can be used as a sensor, or like mine, sat out of the way, comunicating with the DTS92E for room data.

    You can then upgrade to rad control and hot water control later.

    The Honeywell app has some other intriguing products linked to it too that are due to be released in the near future.
     
  13. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,419
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In all cases I have offered, you just swap the bdr heads over.
     
  15. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help! Will weigh up the options. :)
     
  16. theSouth

    theSouth

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just finished wiring my evohome tonight. First time I've fitted one and it really was very easy

    Loving my evohome.
     
  17. jarrah31

    jarrah31

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok I'm convinced - I've now realised that their 3rd generation ATC928G3000 display is much better than the chunky older models, so seeing as the older style was putting me off that no longer is an issue. :)

    Thanks for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page