hotpoint WD62 leaking-pretty sure it's not the filter now :(

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

My 6 year old hotpoint WD62 has started leaking water & quite a lot of it! It's definitely not coming from the door but comes from under the machine.

From what I've read around the internet it seems the filter may need cleaning out, I'm a bit new to all this - I've got the back off and have disconnected the big grey pipe using pliers on the metal clamps.

Is the filter this thing?

wd62bb.JPG

and how do I get it off to clean it out?

Thanks for any help & sorry for being a bit (or a lot) of a noobie,
Steve.

Sponsored Links
nope that is the pump ,filter is that black pipe that is attatched to bottom of drum .is kinda attached to the pump with the cable tie round it ,now you got back off run it and see where the leak is dont forget to put pipe back on

brilliant - thanks for your help - I'll have another look at it tonight then - I'll get there in the end :oops:

cheers,
worto.

hummmm - this is starting to very much look like it's not the filter :(

I cleaned the filter out but it didn't look that bad - mind you I did find a button & a hair clip in there but the plastic has sheered on some important looking bits the red ring below on the image below has snapped off while the yellow one just seems to flap about (there is another one just flapping about on the opposite side to the yellow one too) but I'm not sure if the yellow ones are suppsed to do that as they don't look snapped like the top one does.

it's on a large plastic thing on the right at the back of the machine - do you think I'm better off just buying a new one?

When running the machine the water seems to come out of this plastic thing then run down it onto the floor.

wash-1a.JPG

This is a closeup of the top one
wash-2a.JPG

Thanks & sorry for all the pics but I don't really know how to describe the parts as it's the 1st time I've looked inside a washing machine!
worto.

Sponsored Links