How do I stabilise a coat stand that keeps on falling?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys.

Hope everyone is keeping well. I'm hoping there's a smart home improvement expert (perhaps with a little knowledge when it comes to structures, balancing, weight, forces, etc) that can help me with a coat stand I recently purchased through Amazon. A coat stand that keeps on falling over!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00OUJ56...=1432632054&sr=8-1&keywords=cities+coat+stand

Pic of coat stand in link above. Now, I know you get what you pay for and i appreciate that it may not be the best quality, but I'm a little gutted because I really like the look of it and I want it to work right! This was assembled by someone who knows what they're doing a (a builder by trade) and it was leaning over BEFORE any coats were hung in there. It can hold 20 jackets but with 5 on there, it keeps falling over. I have to spend about an hour swivelling all the 'signs' in the correct place and rearranging the coats just to get it to balance. It's not practical, every time i put a jacket on there or remove one, it topples over. I tried adding extra weight to the base but it still topples over. I'm sure there's a science to this. The telescopic pole is hollow - should I put sand or stones in there? Really, this product needs a tripod base I guess...I know this sounds petty but I really don't want to throw it away because it looks really cool...i just want it to stand properly. Any DIY suggestions to stabilise this? Thanks so much guys...

Sponsored Links
A builder is no more qualified to assemble it than a nurse, my son-in-law has 25 years building experience in property, up to the value of £35 million [one house] but he cannot fit a curtain rail or assemble a child's toy cart.
That said the coat stand is poorly designed and would only work if the base were extended or screwed to the floor.

Sponsored Links
add a heavy base
this can be a 2ft slab probably doubled up