1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Intermediate switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by jackg, 25 Mar 2018.

  1. jackg

    jackg

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Avon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One switch I intend to install in an extension will be a twin gang, one is for the porch light, the other is an intermediate switch for three external lights.
    Trying to find the best switch.
    I am going to use Hager for the rest of the face plates and they sell grid modules which I could use here but I am unsure of the back box depth.
    I have used 25mm so far, this may require 47mm.
    A thermal blocks wall.
    Or I could use a Contactum intermediate switch.
    Any suggestions which is the best solution?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,633
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pro Hager tip.

    If it's a standard 2G switch, buy a 2G switch and an intermediate switch. Flip them round, there's 2 little Philips screws on each switch mod, remove the switch you want to change and swap it for the intermediate. Job done. A 25mm back box will be fine, they're no deeper than a normal plate switch
     
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,764
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,633
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hager don’t make a 2G intermediate switch
     
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,764
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,633
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, but if the rest of the range is Hager it makes sense to keep it all the same. Contactum mixed in with Hager is hardly MK mixed with Hager, it’s markedly different
     
  8. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    33,589
    Thanks Received:
    1,021
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, Contactum is far carppier than Hager.
     
  9. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The BEST solution is to wire the place so the intermediate switch ends up on a single plate - IE not at the position where you intend putting the 2 gang switch.

    Not sure how far into the first fix you are, but maybe one of the other two switch positions may only require a 1 gang switch.

    This method is best, as it will allow ANY range of switches to be fitted.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,442
    Thanks Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose that's theoretically true, but isn't it in the nature of intermediate switches that one tends 'to want them where one wants them'?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well yes, but....

    What sort of switches are at all the other positions for the external lights? Are any of them single gang? If so, make that one(/those ones if there are more than 3 switches) the intermediate(s).
     
  13. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I mean is have all three (or more) switches where you want them, but make one of the 2 way switches go on a 2 gang switch plate, and make the actual intermediate (or intermediates) go a 1 gang switch somewhere where other switches are not required.

    The chances of all three (or more) switch positions all requiring multiple switch plates are very slim.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,442
    Thanks Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I understood roughly what you meant - and if that is possible (in terms of desires, convenience and aesthetics), it's probably the easiest way to go (if one is starting from scratch).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I always avoid putting an intermediate on a multi switch plate, would rather use more 3 core+e cable.
     
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,442
    Thanks Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that just because (as we've heard) plates with two or more intermediates are not all that common, or do you have some other reason?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No other reason, no.

    Why make it hard for yourself if it's a struggle getting the switches you want?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page