Is one of these drills suitable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Further to my earlier post about sds drills and bits to do the channelling for wiring i have looked again at some drills to buy rather than hire one with the chisels and have come across these two, does anyone if they will be ok and which one would be best ( i know they are cheaper :rolleyes: ones but i will really only need them for small amounts of work )

The first ones http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/sea...=94802-72&n=&pn=1&pd=1&pi=1&cn=1&cd=1&x=0&y=0

The others http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/s...0001&langId=-1&catalogId=1001&productId=62026
(has this one got rotory stop + sdsplus :?: )

Sponsored Links
I've tradititionally held to the view that when it comes to tools you should buy the best you can afford, not the cheapest you can find.

And I have had some bad experiences of cheap power tools.

But.

But...

An SDS-plus drill with rotostop for £30 - it does seem hard to argue against it. It will be noisy, rough, and may well have poor balance. But £30!

As long as it lasts the duration of your project, it'll probably work out cheaper than hiring.

And no - the Argos one doesn't say it has rotostop, and without that it'll be about as much use as a Kleenex condom.

An excellent site for advice on power tools is http://www.ryobitools.com/cgi-bin/dcforum/dcboard.cgi

Doesn't just cover Ryobi, but it is US-based, and so therefore is most of the info on tools (the prices will make you weep), but you do get enough UK readers to get worthwhile responses if you ask a question.

Do you really need a new drill? Is the wall so hard you cannot use your drill, a hammer and a couple of different chisels?

i will be putting in a few :confused: new sockets plus extractor fan-cooker and so on, i could use a chisel but would take me a lot longer and be a lot harder as some of the walls are concrete blocks :mad: ,