LED light mirror cabinet in bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I've looked through old posts to try and find a solution, but I can't find anything relating exactly to my question - so I'm posting a new thread.

Apologies for my probably wrong use of terminology as I'm a complete noob and a foreigner, so please bear with me.

I'm not going to do the installation myself, I just need to know what I need to ask my builder to install.

Our new built house will be finished in 2017 and it's 'semi' bespoke, meaning we can add and change some things, but not others.

The house is delivered with a shaver socket in the bathroom.
What I need to know is if I need for them to add a separate wire outlet in the middle of the wall where the mirror cabinet will hang?

The builders say they don't provide this because of "health and safety reasons" which I don't understand because - people have lights in their cabinets all over...don't they?
They say however, that I can have an additional shaver socket fitted.

So my question is - can I use this for my lights in the cabinet?
Like - rip the front off it and just wire the lights into it? Because I assume these cabinets don't come with a plug, right? You have to wire them in?

Another solution would be to have an electrician to come in after the build is finished, and stretch a wire from the main light, down to the cabinet?
Since the bathroom is completely tiled, I would so much prefer if the wiring was hidden in the wall, behind the tiles and behind the cabinet.

Sorry for rambling and stupid questions - but ignorance brought me to the internet to find solutions and answers. Hope you can help.

Thanx

Sponsored Links
Yes you need an extra power feed where teh mirror/light will be.
Do you want this light to come on at the same time as the room lights, or will it have its own switch.?

The builders say they don't provide this because of "health and safety reasons"