Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

So moved into a 1930s house, in the process of doing it up and trying to do as much as possible myself
I've got little knowledge in general around DIY hence hitting a snag and wanting some guidance
please see photos

So from research
I can see is that old electrics seem to only have the neutral and live wire which this does, new electrics have a earth wire which I believe is now standards regs from 60s on wards I think
The light fitting has an earth wire but has clearly been hooked into the metal plate with out anything keeping it sturdy, which I believe you can do to an earth wire but the not unsturdy part doesn't seem right to me
The reason I got to the point of checking this is that when the light is switched on, sometimes it wont turn on and when it does it goes of again, however when I unplugged it the light stayed on for ages but the earth wire is the only thing that's likely to be the cause as its the only thing not fixed and moveable?

I've seen people suggest fixing it to the metal plate for security
Tape it up with electric tape
Fixing it into a terminal block but there's no wire for it to meet and earth after that?

I've also seen that any light fitting we get in the future has to be plastic or "insert special/appropriate DIY name here as I can't find the right name again :)" must be specially coated to deal with the lack of earth wire.

I've fixed a light fitting to a ceiling before however it had the right wires as it was a new build

Please can I get an idea of what I should be doing

Please make it as simple as possible I'm a novice :)

Thanks in advance

Cal

Attachments

• pic 2.jpg
    pic 2.jpg
    145.3 KB · Views: 278
  • pic 1.jpg
    pic 1.jpg
    143.9 KB · Views: 269
Sponsored Links
If there is not an earth wire in the supply cable - to which the light's earth wire should be connected - then you should not use that light.