Main fuse / consumer unit query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Apologies if I get any terminology wrong - I'm not an expert on these things (hence why I'm here!) - but I need some advice regarding who is allowed to do work to the various parts of the incoming electricity supply.

We have just bought a house and it looks like the consumer unit/fuse board has been moved from near the front door (where the main fuse still is) to the cupboard under the stairs. It doesn't appear to have been done to a very high standard, and it's been suggested that the wires between the two are too long.

We made an initial enquiry to the electricity board (E astern Electric)and they said that only they are allowed to do work on everything from the main fuse outwards (to the street), and only the electricity supplier (Southern Electric) are allowed to do work on the section between the main fuse and the consumer unit.

Is that true, or can a qualified electrician do work on the section between the main fuse and consumer unit?

Sponsored Links
can a qualified electrician do work on the section between the main fuse and consumer unit?
Not only a qualified electrician can perform work between main fuse and CU but also and unqualified electrician or a bloke walking his dog that was just passing for a cup of tea.
Not saying that it is right that the bloke walking his dog should be messing with your electrics but they will be allowed to carry some work out.

Thanks for your response. From research I've done I'm inclined to agree with you.

But electricity supplier have also now said that only they are allowed to touch it. Why would electricity board and supplier (Eastern Electric and Southern Electric) tell me this if it's not true?

Sponsored Links
The DNO and the electricity supplier are telling you what is the correct legal position
(and there are a lot of threads on here discussing this)