mobile power pack

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi everyone joined this forum while back but first time posted i notice everyone posts about various power drills ect i would like to share with everyone what i did a few yrs ago i am a locksmith and was fed up with batteries going flat ect so i made up some power packs and they have been brill i had a combination cordless set ie drill /circular saw/jig saw/ect so i hard wired them put plug on them got 3x6v 12amp batteries wired up and been brill never went flat can use all day and still be ok i have a solar panel in my van which trickle charges them all,the more amps the better i got a 12v lamp from aldi hard wired that had a old starter booster that you use to start car up the switch was faulty so took out battery which is 12v 17amp and used that this lamp has been great for me when doing doors at night in badly lit houses hope photos work thanks

Sponsored Links
Surely simpler to stick a small generator in the van and run cheaper 240V tools from that?????

Saves invalidating the warranty on your tools too!

It makes sense for older stuff where the battery is shot. I have an old 12v drill that I was contemplating doing something similar with, mainly because I'm a tight arse and you can get a new drill for not much more than the price of replacement batteries.

Zico - do you use cig lighter plugs and sockets and do you have any fuses in the setup? Pic doesn't show btw - would like to see it if you can fix it.

I've toyed with something similiar and a friend of mine has rigged up a 12v drill to work off a car battery that he charges with a duel charging system in his van commonly found on caravans.

Sponsored Links
What about the balance of that drill now that there is no battery on the bottom?

Doesn't seem to bother him, he's got used to it now anyway , besides the drill isn't in constant use.