Moving a light switch (quite a big distance)?

Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all. Somehow got my dimensions all wrong in a bedroom, and light switches on either side of a bed aren't even close to being wide enough apart for the bed that's meant to go there, and not high enough to go above a headboard. Total idiot, I know. Schoolboy error.

The builders have pretty much done the flooring as well now, so I no longer have access to the cabling to move them. I'm obviously asking them, but wanted to inform myself too in case they just give me a quick "nothing to be done" answer (which may of course be absolutely true!).

It's not a matter of just a few centimetres, so there won't be enough existing wire length to just shift the plate. Is there anything at all that can be done? I've looked at some other similar threads, but they were mostly just moving a couple of inches so not sure in my case.

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,757
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
So the cables come up from the floor to the switches, and you need to move them horizontally.

In the existing back boxes put connector strips and chase the wall horizontally to the new switch positions. Put blanking plates over the original boxes.
 
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
So the cables come up from the floor to the switches, and you need to move them horizontally.

In the existing back boxes put connector strips and chase the wall horizontally to the new switch positions. Put blanking plates over the original boxes.

Thanks, ban-all-sheds.

I imagine this depends on which direction the cables/wires are running from the floor? I.e if the cables are running from left to right, but I need to move it further to the right, there wouldn't be any wire to do this?
 
Joined
8 May 2017
Messages
6,646
Reaction score
1,414
Country
United Kingdom
you add lengths of cable ,joined into the connector strips as ban all sheds advised above.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
20,887
Reaction score
2,188
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
you add lengths of cable ,joined into the connector strips as ban all sheds advised above.
Unless the cables are in the recognised zones for cabling, you must leave the place for the connection visible.
So a junction in the old switch box is ok, but you can't plaster over it. You would need to replace the switch with a blanking plate.
 
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Great, thanks again, understood on all counts. I'll find a slim/flush screwless blanking plate. It'll still be visible, but at least better than having the round switch hit you on the back of the head. Serves me right for messing it up in the first place
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,757
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
That would be good, if you could, but you say you have no access under the floor any more.

Flooring which does that is best avoided.
 
Sponsored Links
Top