1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

My switch is crackling?!

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Chriswheela, 25 Jul 2020.

  1. Chriswheela

    Chriswheela

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ll attach a video, could it be something to do with dust, as the chasing has been cut out from above and I know a lot of dust has got in there. Or is it just a lose connection, but it now happens with both switches.
    What is it?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,041
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    could be either dust or loose connection.

    turn the power off, pull switch forward slowly.

    WIll probably need replacing if you aren't able to take it apart and clean it (and reassemble it with care - unlikely!)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Chriswheela

    Chriswheela

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah ok, so I think it might be the dust. I’ll give it a look tomorrow with the power off. I do have a replacement rocker switch should I need to anyways. Can I cover the casing up once fixed with electrical tape so no more dust falls down? I’ll need to fill the chasing in etc at some point so don’t want it to start making that sketchy noise again. I’m guessing it’s not safe :/
     
  5. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,041
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I usually fill the hole with silicon to stop dust dropping down
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. FrodoOne

    FrodoOne

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    401
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    No, you do not.
    "Silicon" is a chemical element, a hard dark-grey semiconducting metalloid

    The stuff that comes in a tube is a "Silicone" - which is like a "Carbohydrate", where the "carbon" has been replaced with "silicon" - which is possible because of the relationship which carbon has with silicon (and germanium) on the "Periodic Table".
     
  8. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,041
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t think the op would obtain the wrong item unless he was
    Intending the crush some chips
     
  9. Chriswheela

    Chriswheela

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, so can I use electrical tape? :LOL:
     
  10. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, no problem there.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page