1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Need a time delay circuit for my float switch and 12v pump?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by AquaHydroChem, 12 Feb 2009.

  1. AquaHydroChem

    AquaHydroChem

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I’m sorry ban-all-sheds but I did not understand what you wear talking about before when you mentioned single DPs and latching contactors
    And the KISS thingy sounds a bit off if you know what I mean
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,158
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    KISS = Keep It Simple Somehow ( Or Keep It Simple Stupid if appropriate ).

    But sometimes keeping it too simple means fault conditions are not considered and then failure of a 50p diode causes £50 worth of damage and costs £500 ( or more ) in loss of productive time.

    Relying on a diode in this circuit is not good practise.
     
  4. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why? What is wrong with relying on a diode? If they are correctly specified and not subject to mis-use a diode is very reliable.
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,158
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you say " if correctly specified ". All too often the only specifications considered are the maximum reverse voltage that the diode will have to block and the current the diode can carry. Works for most things but not all.

    In this application it looks like 12 volts is the highest voltage but in fact there will be the back EMF's from coils and the pump applied to the diode.
     
  6. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, hence the reason for adding a diode reversed across the coil, if the motor needs it then add one across that however it isn't the norm as would cause problems reversing it.
    It seems odd to me that if it is such a bad design that the manufacturer would supply a schematic diagram incuding the same concept.
     
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,158
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does seem to be a design based on minimum cost at time of sale and little thought to on-going costs.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It didn't appear to bad to me, came across as a good concept. A diode is cheaper than a second relay, a single relay and diode is cheaper than a double poled relay yep, but why not?
     
  10. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,927
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It seems to have been wired with auto-electrical parts. And the little square relays used come with loads of configurations and I have been caught out with them in the past. Some come with back EMF protection built in. And some if required it needs to be added.

    If we were using relays normally used in panel wiring then the diode is normally a add on which fits in the relay base.

    It does seem to be rather cheap in design but when I looked for purpose built relays only 24 volt versions were available.

    But to use a relay with at least two sets of contacts would have been the norm and to move away from the normal method is asking for problems when it comes to maintenance.
     
  11. philipND

    philipND

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI

    Did you ever solve the problem because i would be interested to see what your solution was.

    I am in the process of testing my idea.
     
  12. bowlingo

    bowlingo

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just had a read of this old thread and am having the same problem..

    The answer as I see it is one of these..

    http://www.interfacesolutions.uk.com/

    You need to IS-ARM on the products page
     
  13. bowlingo

    bowlingo

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    works a treat :)

    £18.00 + VAT (UK)
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page