Never drilled before - should I start now?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. I've never drilled before and need to put up a heavy (7.5 kg) shelf into plaster over brickwork. Due to terrible problems with previous tradesmen and the size of the job, I'm thinking of doing it myself. But I've never drilled anything before (in fact I need to buy a SDS drill + masonry bit + red rawl plugs + screws + spirit level to do this as I have no DIY tools). If I drill into my walls as a complete novice will I mess it up? Any tips for a novice driller?

Sponsored Links
brown plugs are stronger than red. plugs are used in brick or block wals, plasterboard uses a different type.

the plug pack will have marks in it to show the size of drill and screw you need

the hole has to go into the brick, not the plaster, and the screw should be at least 35mm long to get a good purchase. Often shelves and other fittings come with unreasonably short screws.

tap the plug below the surface of the plaster by 1/4" or so. It expands when you put the screw in, and this will reduce the risk of the plaster cracking. You can do this by putting the screw into the plug, tapping the head, then unscrewing it.

Unless you expect to do a lot of DIY, start by buying a light rechargable drill. It will be a bit slower but much lighter, cheaper and easier to use, also handy for high-level work like curtain rails. £25 will probably do. There are some better more powerful ones, but they are big and heavy, which rather defeats the object. If you end up doing a lot of work, you will benefit from having both a small and a big drill. You might find you get a free set of drills with it.