New member needing advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. Nice to be here.

I am a newbie to this site and a recently new to electrics. I have come across a problem - which I think should be simple - but it is baffling me and I can't understand what I am doing wrong. I am hoping that some kind knowledgeable person on here can help!

I am trying to remove a dusk till dawn sensor from an outside lighting circuit and replace with a switch. I have removed the sensor to find a 3 core plus earth cable (this doesn't help me!). I have tried to install a switch straight to where the sensor was - unsuccessfully! I have managed to change it with a normal PIR detector and wired as brown - live, grey neutral, black - light load and tried doing some daylight testing but couldn't - although the sensor does work at night. I really want only a switch but don't know how to do this. Am I able to have a switch running from the sensor to override it? Or even better, only a switch!

I don't understand why I can't get any lights to come on in daylight! Could there be another dusk till dawn sensor on the circuit which is stopping me being able to turn lights on during the day?

Any help would be much appreciated. I am confused and frustrated!

Sponsored Links
I have tried to install a switch straight to where the sensor was - unsuccessfully

How exactly did you connect it, and what exactly happened?

Probably you should connect your switch between the live and switched live wires, and leave the neutral disconnected (safely, in a terminal block).
I think that means between brown and black.

... I think that means between brown and black.
Does it ? It depends on how the original circuit was wired. I would consider it logical to use black for neutral, but AIUI there is a standard that says black should be the switched live and grey should be neutral.
So for the OP, I would suggest looking at where this 3 core+E cable goes and see how it's wired.

That's based on: