New Navien combi boiler installed with old Santon Premier problems.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I enjoy a pint at my local pub/restaurant owned by a hardworking Chinese family. I have had many years experience on property maintenance and they asked for my help.
He had an old LPG gas boiler feeding a Santon Premier unvented cylinder feeding 23 radiators and hot water for the kitchen. New boiler is a Navien combi and the pipework is a work of art!
The installers came out again and said boiler works as it should so problems is not of their making.
The upstairs living accommodation has a separate combi system.
When the fitters arrived he was given an option to retain the unvented cylinder, so he did.

The central heating no longer circulates around the building and about six radiators get warm.
I have bled and done everything to get it going but no improvement. It worked fine before the boiler change. The system was not drained. It was flushed four years ago. All TG's are working fine.
I notice that the original central heating Granfoss pump sucks the flow downwards to the cold feed of the cylinder at the bottom as a secondary feed. I found that the water temperature between 2 feet from the pump to the cylinder went from warm to cool indicating lack of flow?
I cracked open the drain cock and the temp from the pump to the cold supply into the cylinder is now even.
The expansion vessel is at 3 pressure whatsits.
The pump is overheating which suggests sod all is happening and there is an obstruction to flow?
I changed the pump to a nearly new pump which is trying to perform as it should.
The problem is either; the installation of the new combi boiler? The routing of pipework not being correct? Or me not seeing the obvious?
Your help appreciated please. They are really nice people and I might get a couple of freebie beers.

Sponsored Links
The electrical supply to what I think is the central heating pump has been labelled 'secondary pump supply'.