1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

NVR HDMI OUT to powerline?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Minime46, 20 Apr 2021.

  1. Minime46

    Minime46

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys

    Is it possible if I want a monitor downstairs of a 3 story building to do

    Hdmi out to - HDMI extender (cat5)

    Into a powerline plug

    Then downstairs
    Powerline plug cat5 cable into hdmi receiver and then into the monitor?

    Would this work?

    Is there anyway of wirelessly getting the recorder in a loft to display on a monitor downstairs without running a cable all the way to it?

    Any advice would help a lot.

    Cheers
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,907
    Thanks Received:
    1,351
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is your tv aerial in the loft ? You could use a hdmi modulator and the picture can be seen by all TVs connected to this , as long as they all can receive free view HD ...
     
  4. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,591
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It depends,

    Powerline network unit work with Ethernet. Just because something is CAT5 based doesn't nessacerally mean it's Ethernet, from some googling though it appears that some HDMI senders do actually use Ethernet. So they could in principle at least be used over powerline networking. Specifically my googling turns up the part number LKV373A which seems to be available for about £25 for the sender/receiver pair on ebay.

    There is also the question of whether there will be a high enough data rate over the powerline link to support whatever bitrate the video stream is using.

    As sparkymarka points out if you have a RF TV feed you can get HDMI to DVB-T modulators. They are fairly pricey though.
     
  5. T1GERIII

    T1GERIII

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fairly certain it doesn’t work
     
  6. Minime46

    Minime46

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all. im have a cat5 extender and powerline so will see if it works and report back. I have a feeling it won't...
     
  7. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    18,861
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I wanted to monitor my cctv (dvr in loft) on my TV in the lounge, I used a 15m hdmi cable. I also dropped a 10m usb cable down a void and used a wireless mouse to control it.

    Before that it was powerline adaptors and view it on iPad/phone.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page