Old electrics with no earth? with/PIC

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Multiplex, 28 Jan 2006.

  1. Multiplex

    Multiplex

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friend has just bought an old council flat with some weird electrics. There doesn't even appear to be a way to earth his sockets?

    Does he need a total rewire?

    [​IMG]

    Simon.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The funny cable you can see feeding the socket is "pyro"

    in plain english i a solid copper cable*, that uses the outer sheath for earth, but there is nothing connected to the outer sheath, the insulation for the cores is not marked, .......yahdy yahdy yah

    the question is if just one socket is like this, what is the rest like. Pyro itself lasts a lifetime, but in this example its not right, best get a PIR done, or just go ahead and get a complete rewire




    Yes i know, but i did say plain english
     
  4. Multiplex

    Multiplex

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's another socket if it helps:

    [​IMG]

    My friend has bought this old property as an investment to let to students and asked me to take a look at it. He's been advised for a total rewire. Currently the wires just round around the house clipped to the top of the skirting.

    Simon.
     
  5. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    again no earth (yes there is a wire connecting the socket to the back box, but that's all)

    Also as the picture you have added has 2 pyros, it would imply sockets are on a radial.

    a rewire would be best
     
  6. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,705
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would anyone go to the trouble of using pyro then make such a ****ing mess of it?
     
  7. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,066
    Thanks Received:
    4,357
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Pyro is an expensive method, and there is a way of using this copper-covered cable safely, by terminating it in metal boxes with a special gland. It looks to me as if the white plastic boxes are quite new, I wonder if someone "renovated" the flat and took the origanal fittings off, thus loosing the proper earthing?

    Or maybe found a coil of pyro in a skip?
     
  8. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,705
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But shouldn't there be part of the gland on the cable, kept captive by the pyro pot, unless when someone 'renovated' they cut it off because they didn't need it ... :rolleyes:
     
  9. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would have been a lot of effort to cut it off
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,636
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try and find a sparky thats happy to work with pyro (some hate the stuff) and if the pyro tests out ok (e.g. damp hasn't got in) then i'd be inclined to keep it both because that would reduce disruption and because pyro is liable to last longer than PVC T&E ever will

    any points that are like that will need reterminating to metal boxes.
     
  12. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you ever tried re terminating a pyro?
     
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,066
    Thanks Received:
    4,357
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Does he need a rewire?

    Yes he does. The existing is very unsafe, no knowing what other calamities the last person perpetrated, they obviously had no idea.

    As it's surface-clipped it will be easier to put in new than try to repair the old (and those old cables have probably absorbed moisture).
     
  14. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    pyro cant once it has "pots" as the picture shows it does
     
  15. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,066
    Thanks Received:
    4,357
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    sorry my mistake I thought the ends had just been cut off. You're right, it's clear in the first pic.


    It's a shameful installation, isn't it?
     
  16. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,515
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its retro fit I think - some DIYer has changed the sockets at some time from the correctly done originals.

    There are no glands used in the pics - to terminate to a standard metal box with 20mm knockouts, glands would be needed, and to put these on, you would need to remove the pot, put the gland on, and then re-pot. Time consuming.

    They do some boxes with 'pot' clamps, these clamp over the pot to provide the earth continuity.





    Point of notice - DANGEROUS. Your pots to not look like they earth from one cable to the next. This means only the first (if even that one) is earthed - the rest will be unearthed, and could therefore be at mains potential, or near to it if any of the pots have been done badly.
     
  17. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,497
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    quick irrelevant question?: why use pyro for normal wiring? :eek:
     
Loading...

Share This Page