outside socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I wish to install an outside twin socket (ip56) fixed directly to the house wall
Fed from a 30ma rcd and 32a mcb in consumer unit with a cable run of around 8m
This socket will be used for garden lighting and more importantly a pool heater and pump rated at 2650w total, what size cable (2.5 ?)

Sponsored Links
Firstly 2.5mm cable is only rated for about 20A ish depending on the method of installation.

Secondly this work will come under part P of the building regs and will need to be notified.

Thirdly although you seem to have some knowledge on how to do electrical work, from your post I feel that you have insufficient knowledge to be able to design a circuit. Get someone in and have it done right, don't risk the lives of those that you love.

As you say I have some knowledge
Sod part p I will be doing the job so I dot need to be reminded I am aware of all the regulations regarding notification,
One socket on wall around 8m of cable across loft (bungalow) down to existing 32a mcb protected by 30ma rcd so no hidden cable and not much circuit design needed just advice on cable size as you say 2.5 is 20ish amps (24) so I assume I need 4mm t&e
But I appreciate the advice thanks.

johnad said:
As you say I have some knowledge
s** part p I will be doing the job so I dot need to be reminded I am aware of all the regulations regarding notification

Not really the sort of attitude that's going to make people want to offer you advice.

johnad said:
One socket on wall around 8m of cable across loft (bungalow) down to existing 32a mcb protected by 30ma rcd so no hidden cable and not much circuit design needed just advice on cable size as you say 2.5 is 20ish amps (24) so I assume I need 4mm t&e
But I appreciate the advice thanks.