Part P and notification to LABC

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In a months time I'll be carrying out work for the in-laws (gratis :evil: ).
It will be notifiable work (power to new garage) so I'm going to have to go through building control.
I've never done this before as my company are ECA registered (I'm, a QS) and do our own Part P registration via website).

So, what's the exact process?

Contact LABC to pre-notify I'll be commencing work and what it will entail, pay the fee (how much?), carry out first fix, LABC come and inspect and give me the go-ahead to complete.
Do they then return to test and issue an EIC? I'll obviously be testing my work and completing an EIC of my own.

Sponsored Links
Seems from past postings that all councils operate different schemes as they are still getting to grips with it. Don't phone just walk in and ask reception to see someone from Building Control. They are public servants and are very accessible.

In our neck of the woods they operate a 2 tier system. A diyer wil pay £290+ and for that he will get 1st and 2nd fix inspections and testing.

In my case I was able to show I was competent (showed certs) and was charged £66. All I had to do was fill in the BC form and pay the fee. No visits at all from them, you send in your EIC and a week later or so the customer gets their compliance cert.

Obviously my cheaper rate is due to the fact that their input is purely admin. I have seen other postings that indicate an entirely different system......some cheap some exhorbitant.

In my case I was able to show I was competent (showed certs) and was charged £66. All I had to do was fill in the BC form and pay the fee. No visits at all from them, you send in your EIC and a week later or so the customer gets their compliance cert.

Obviously my cheaper rate is due to the fact that their input is purely admin. I have seen other postings that indicate an entirely different system......some cheap some exhorbitant.