Planning department cock up. Advice please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi and thanks for taking a look at my current problem.

I purchased a house in August last year and unfortunately it has taken between then and now to get to the current stage. I have had lots of pre planning talks about a single front extension with a balcony above and a double side extension. Everything was provisionally agreed after lots of amendments and we put in the full application at the beginning of January.

Today was supposed to be the day we got the yes or the no. I have called the planning department who have said that on the letters they sent to the neighbours they forgot to mention the balcony in the description of works so they need to resend the letter out. Now excluding the fact I am pretty annoyed that I have been discussing this with them for 8 months and the balcony was mentioned from day 1 does this seem a little crazy? Ultimately the neighbours are aware a planning application has gone in, they can all view the drawings online, we have not had a single complaint and now this. The description of works on the planning application online do clearly include the balcony so I believe it is just the letters to the neighbours which missed it. I have builders ready to go and I'm living elsewhere whilst we get the works done and it's costing me a fortune with every delay they cause.

Does anyone have any detailed knowledge of the planning system. Is this something which is legally crucial and would justify another 3 weeks delay and give everyone another chance to complain?

Any help would be much appreciated as I'm pretty run down and stressed from this whole ordeal.

Thanks
Greg

Sponsored Links
They are allowed a period of 8 weeks beween registering the application and issuing a decision (this period can be extended by agreement by both sides).