Please help a dumbass

JSR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok ok (flame suit on) i have just bought my first house and went gung ho at changing a light fitting, removed the old one without looking at which wires went where as my new fitting came with a lovely diagram of new and old wire types so thought that'd do it.

Now as you can imagine i am new at this and have learnt a valuable lesson. I do not have a mutimeter.

So here goes:

2 x Black (Neutral)
2x Red (Live) or switched live
2x Green/yellow (earth)

Now when ever i connect the light and turn the switch on the circuit trips.

Have tried the following combo's (into a junction box)

2 x red together 2 x black together 2x green together

1 x red (a) 2 x black together 2x green together and red (b) in the loop termination block

1 x red (b) 2 x black together 2x green together and red (a) in the loop termination block

And its stil all fusing - my lovely fiance is being very understanding (at the moment lol) and i don't want that to chage so as much help as possible would be great and yes i know i should have looked BEFORE disconnecting (i have since learnt that)

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Both green/yellow together (earth)
Both reds together in a separate block (live)

The two black ones are switched live and neutral - these are what connects to the light.

If the light fitting has an earth connection, this must be connected to the two green/yellow wires.

Thanks for the reply - so the two reds in the one hole in the junction box just not connecting to anything on the other side of it, is that correct? If so then you just saved my bacon ;)

The fitting has:

Brown - Live
Blue - Neutral
Earth

So we are saying two blacks to the brown
Earth to earth
both reds to blue?

Sponsored Links
no..
both reds to nothing but each other.
1 black to the brown
1 black to the blue
both earths to the earth..