1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Plug socket in loft

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by scottpetrie, 30 Dec 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    I was wondering if you could help me. I would like to put a plug socket in my loft but am unsure where I can take it from. I recently got a Hive outdoor camera. It is powered by a plug/USB and would like to route the cabling through my soffits and up to loft and just pkug it in. Its a bungalow if that helps.
    Thanks
     
  2. jonbey

    jonbey

    Joined:
    17 May 2012
    Messages:
    4,221
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was lucky and already had a circuit for a garage that was removed, so used that. If you can get a new circuit added to the consumer unit that might be best - I had one of my cameras crash the other week and it is handy being able to turn them all off and on again without clambering about the loft, or going up a ladder outside.
     
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    22,420
    Thanks Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Provided that you ensure that no one can plug a vacuum cleaner or other powerful device ( > 1.5 kW ) into the socket then you can connect the socket to the lighting ciruit in the loft.

    ( There will probably be a reply soon from a person who considers that sockets on the light ciruit is bad practice )
     
  4. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    2,329
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's an excellent suggestion. However it's often easier to add the socket onto the lighting circuit if there are 3 cables to each ceiling rose.

    Winston will jump on this and incorrectly say it's wrong, all the professionals will confirm it's OK.

    EDIT: Bernards reply happened while I was replying and distracted by Mrs Sunray
     
    Last edited: 30 Dec 2019
  5. jonbey

    jonbey

    Joined:
    17 May 2012
    Messages:
    4,221
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did think about lighting circuits, but said nothing as I am no electrician!
     
  6. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,139
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course, if there is already some cables for the house sockets running through the loft, you could of course add to this wiring.

    You may well have a built in cupboard in the house where you can run wiring, if that makes it easier.

    Ideally you need to send photographs of what you have in the loft, and the consumer unit, and anything else that may be of interest, as there are about hundred ways to do this, and probably only one or two easy/correct ways.
     
  7. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've always considered that when using a 13A socket on a lighting circuit, it is a good idea to mark the socket clearly with its purpose and limitations. And not all of us are like Winston and send our wives up into the attic to vacuum it.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    4,592
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you may have 2.5mm cables in the loft to feed downward sockets. So have a look above sockets.

    Or pull a socket off to see which way the cable goes.
     
  10. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for all the advice. If I go down the route of teeing off a light, would this not then make the socket only work if the light was on?
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,692
    Thanks Received:
    2,705
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same here ... and if, as is often the case, it is for some dedicated (and 'permanent') purpose (such as a wallwart or even just a plug connected to some 'permanently powered' item), I often 'retain' the wallwart or plug with a cable tie (usually attached to solder tags held by the faceplate screws), as a further deterrent to anyone who wanders into the loft with a vacuum cleaner!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,028
    Thanks Received:
    3,354
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No. You don't actually tee it off the light but the supply to the light.
     
  13. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh so just cut the cable going to a ceiling rose, and install a connector/joining block?
     
  14. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, run the cable to the ceiling rose.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page