quite a strange mod i want to do!!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Im new to the forum and chartering into deep waters as im an electrician not a plumber :eek: please be gentle :LOL:

I have a large 3 bed house mid renovation, the boiler is a combi chateaux brittany non vented system and has had a few problems from when i moved in. Im having a solid fuel rayburn fitted in feb with a back boiler.

Right heres the mod i want to do......

I want to use the backboiler on the rayburn to heat the radiators but if i don't want to light the rayburn i can just switch on the boiler to heat them??

Have found that i cannot just add the rayburn on to the heating loop as the rayburns heat cannot be controlled,

is it worth ripping all out and starting fresh with an vented boiler and fit a tank in the loft??

OR is there a way of passing rayburn heated water through a cylinder over a coil, and link that coil to the heating flow/return,like a heat exchanger?? that way my combi can remain where it is till it dies and i can still have hot water on demand, i know this method would still require a tank in the loft and would need to fit a few additional rads as 'dump rads' for the excess heat

I know its not ideal but looking to save on the gas bills, and i understand there may need to be a few port valves in places to ensure the safty of the system

Please note i will have a plumber connect/commission/check out the install before i use it, just figured i could save quite a bit on the labour by installing pipes and getting things in situe.

any help or advise would be great and if theres anyone in the southwest willing to take on the challenge.... the job is yours

thanks

sam

Sponsored Links
You'll not be able to link them directly as combi is sealed system. They can be linked through a thermal store but it's expensive.