Radiators red hot but give off little heat

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not an expert on central heating systems so looking for some advice as to what to do next.
I bought a property approx 2 years ago with a 4 year old combi boiler fitted in the attic, the boiler works well heating all 12 radiators in the property with no problem at all, I think the boiler is rated 31Kw.

The radiators in some of the rooms look fairly new, with the fins on the back and the grid on the top, all but 2 have TRVs and there is a room stat in the hallway.

Now I have been wondering about the radiators as the property takes a long time to get up to temperature and having done a BTU test it seems 1 or 2 of the radiators will require changing due to the size of the rooms.

However a number of rooms have radiators more than adequate but they never seem to heat the rooms completely even though we have Cavity wall insulation, roof insulation and double glazing.
The radiators are red hot to touch but if you stand 5cm away you can feel no heat at all coming off them, my parents property is of similar size and they have smaller radiators but when you walk past them you can feel the heat coming off, in their rooms the radiator can be on for 30mins and you need to turn it down, however there seems to be no heat coming off mine even though to touch they feel just as hot as my parents radiators.

Any advice on what could be causing this lack of heat off the radiators?

Forgot to add, its the same if you hold your hand 2cm above the radiator, you can feel a bit of heat but nothing at 5cm unlike my parents that really pump out the heat.

Sponsored Links
Any advice on what could be causing this lack of heat off the radiators?

Because it's been b****y cold the last couple of months?