RICS Homebuyer Survey / Report - Serious Defects

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Apologies in advance if this is the wrong forum for this thread. Forgive me, I'm a newbie as well as a first time buyer.

I've had a survey done on a 3 bed semi (in East Midlands) I'm in the process of buying. The RICS Homebuyer Survey was conducted through my lender - I chose to upgrade the valuation to a survey. The report had a lot of '3' categories marked as red, several orange '2' and no green!

Most of the serious defects classed as '3' are making my head spin. I was hoping I could have some help to understand them (surveyor is out of office until Monday so I can't talk to him until next week!). I've read on the MoneySavingExpert forums that some classed as '3' are not as serious and only highlighted to cover the surveyor's back. Needless to say I would like every serious defect addressed before I exchange contracts.

Level 3 Defects are as follows:

Chimney Stacks - Two chimney stacks were noted to the main roofline; seen to be of a brick construction, lead flashed into the main roof covering and having open flues.
Both stacks were showing general signs of weathering to the pointing and a programme of repointing and upgrading will be required as a matter of course, together with capping and ventilating of redundant flues; especially as the rear chimney breast was seen to be redundant. What work is exactly needed? Is it a case of covering the chimney stacks to stop rain water etc going down? What would the cost be?

Roof Coverings - The main roof to the property is of a pitched construction with a covering of concrete interlocking tiles. This was showing general signs of weathering to ridge and hip tiles and immediate repointing and upgrading will be necessary. A Roofing Contractor's report should be obtained with all necessary upgrading undertaken.