Scantronic 816 Intruder Alarm - trying to escape ADT Tax

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by concorde01, 21 Mar 2017.

  1. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi There,

    I have a alarm originally installed by ADT (came with my new house but i didn't want to pay ADT tax). when messing with some wiring i removed the end station lid and triggered an end station tamper alarm which i need the engineering code to reset. I tried the default in the user manual but it has obviously been changed by the ADT engineer to another code and they wont give it to me or come out to reset it unless i pay upwards of £300 call out fee.

    I have the user reset so i can turn the alarm off if it triggers but i can no longer set the alarm until this tamper alarm is cleared using the engineer code. reading the manual, i can reset the engineer code to factory default without completely resetting the whole alarm by removing all power including the end station battery (which i have done) but i then need to short out two pins on a PCB that are labeled RST. problem is i cannot find the RST pins on the end station or on the keypad PCB having looked at both. The model is a 816 Hardwired Control Panel and here is a link to in instruction manual and the reset procedure is described on page 34.

    http://touchpoint-online.co.uk/sites/default/files...


    Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    thanks in advance!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,973
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The RST pins are on the control panel circuit board.
    The manual link shows where the pins are
    If you can not find RST pins are you sure you have the correct control panel ?
    Post photo of control panel keypad or control panel pcb
     
  4. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the fast response. Think I must be being an idiot. What page has the RST pins?
     
  5. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,973
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Page 8 End station pcb
     
  6. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,954
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look at page 8 of the manual you have posted, there the re-set pins marked.

    Sheesh.
     
  7. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doh! Many thanks both. Will have my next attempt on Saturday during the day to avoid disturbing the peace

    Thanks again!!!
     
  8. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,973
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will only need to do first stage reset
    That will default user and engineer code only
    Otherwise you will need to completely reprogram the system if you go any further.
     
  9. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I only need first stage as I don't have a clue how to reprogram everything.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All sorted and back in control of my alarm. Many thanks all
     
  12. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,973
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done
    Glad to help you,please hit thanks button.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually one more question. I'm going to change my wooden front door for a double glazed unit sometime soon but the door has what I think is a circular magnetic trigger for the final exit trigger on the alarm. What options do I have to still allow the trigger to work once the double glazed doors installed?
     
  14. Alarm Engineer

    Alarm Engineer

    Joined:
    24 May 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would have to remove the flush contact whist keeping the wiring intact and once your new door is fitted replace with a new surface type contact.

    As always make note of wiring colours used & take a picture if needs be. It will make things easy when you go to refit.

    Remember your get a tamper activation during these works which you'll have to silence & reset.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. concorde01

    concorde01

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great. Where's the best place to get the new type from?
     
  16. Alarm Engineer

    Alarm Engineer

    Joined:
    24 May 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There so cheap it doesnt really matter. ebay is prob the easiest place.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page