1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Scantronic Burglar Alarm - How to Clear a Tamper

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by peterboulton, 9 Feb 2020.

  1. peterboulton

    peterboulton

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    After a power cut today my Scantronic 9427 panel 'Tamper' light is on. How can I clear it and make the alarm usable again?

    I have attempted to implement the factory reset process described on page 10 of the closest I can find to my panel, which is available on line here: https://www.paragonfire.co.uk/wp-co...48-intruder-alarm-Install-and-User-manual.pdf.

    I get to the 8th step (reprogam the access codes), which I do, but as soon as I come out of program mode the alarm sounds. I then key in the NEW access code, the alarm stops, and the green 'Power' and red 'Tamper' lights stay on. The alarm cannot be set. If I key the access code in at that point I get a single 'beep' from the internal alarm siren.

    Probably stupid to mention it, but the Molex pins I shorted in this process are in the control box upstairs... the one containing the big battery! I couldn't find any in the control panel. Also, having Googled, I see that often this type of problem is associated with a dying battery in the control box upstairs. I have lived in the house for 19 years, the battery has never been replaced BUT it seems like an almighty coincidence that it should fail at exactly the same time as we have a power cut.

    Very grateful for any assistance on this one. Many thanks!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A 19 year old battery is possibly the cause of your tamper fault.
    You should've replaced battery before you started defaulting the panel. You may have caused yourself more work in solving the problem.
    Replace battery first,if fault still present then you will need to look at other possibilities.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,383
    Thanks Received:
    1,124
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Google and no idea ....has a lot to answer for !
     
  5. peterboulton

    peterboulton

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, but I didn't find your post helpful. Clearly you are an expert in these things and I am not, so I came here hoping for a little help.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. peterboulton

    peterboulton

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Accepted, I guess. That seems to be the first suggestion made to similar posts in the past. The battery appeared to power the siren pretty well, though it wasn't as loud as when the mains was connected.

    What are the "other possibilities" that you mentioned?

    Thanks!

    Pete
     
  8. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Change the battery first.
     
  9. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,949
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Possibly? No, an absolute certainty.

    Alarm system control panels should have their control panel battery replaced EVERY 4 to 5yrs, more if a problem seems to arise sooner.

    Remember, every 4 to 5yrs or expect problems.
     
  10. peterboulton

    peterboulton

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OP here. I'd like to thank all the experts who told me to replace the battery. Actually, I have now resolved my issue without replacing the battery. This is how:
    1. Removed mains fuse and disconnected battery in the upstairs box.
    2. Left for 8 hours.
    3. Shorted the reset pins and connected battery
    4. Key-in the factory default user access code: 1234.
    5. The internal sounder stops. Ignore any other lights.
    6. Fit the case lid.
    7. Apply mains power. The Power LED glows steadily.
    8. Key-in 0 then ENTER followed by the factory default engineer access
      code: 7890. All LEDs, except for Power, Fault and Service, flash.
    9. Then full setup
    I have a feeling that the most important bit of this is doing steps 3-7 in sequential order.

    So, maybe the battery should be replaced anyway, but to those 'experts' who put me down for pointing out the extreme coincidence of the battery failing at exactly the same time as the power cut, I guess the proof of the pudding is in the eating. :D

    I expect I'll get flamed, but hey, ho, my alarm is back and working fine, on its ancient battery.(y) I worked the steps out between the manual and myself, but feel I could have got there sooner with alternative advice to 'change the battery'.

    Pete
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page