Sealing an outdoor socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking to fit an outdoor socket in the back garden.

Something like this as MK usually are good quality: https://www.mkelectric.com/en-gb/Products/CP/SentrySocket/Masterseal/Pages/56231.aspx

I am an electrical engineer, and had no issue with wiring sockets, lights etc for many years in the house. So the mounting and wiring is not an issue as it'll be a spur off a socket on the other side of the wall.

What I cant seem to see anywhere is guidance for sealing the back of the box to a brick wall. Is it enough to put a bead of silicon sealant on the back face of the box, to keep water or moisture getting in through the hole where the wires feed through on the back of the box?

Sponsored Links
Make sure that any water which does get in, has a means of escape. Rule is prevent water getting, but make sure there is a way out for it.

Sponsored Links
vexorg said:
"I am an electrical engineer"

There's always one.... I know the regs, and have done a lot of industrial wiring over the years too, but couldn't see anything specific about sealing outdoor sockets to meet any kind of standard. No point have a socket that meets all the BS standard if there's a big hole in the back.

Make sure that any water which does get in, has a means of escape. Rule is prevent water getting, but make sure there is a way out for it.

Yes, there are options for drain holes built into the MK socket.

Thanks all (well nearly all)

Do you actually need a RCD socket? Don't you have an RCD in your CU?

I was going to check that, it's from my garage beside the house and it has it's own CU since the garage was the office for the show houses. I'm not sure if the garage if fed from the CU in the house, or tee'd off before the house CU. The house CU has an RCD, need to check the garage.

Belt and braces approach might be best as one of these lazy spa things will be plugged in.