Votes: 17 85.0%
  • go

Votes: 3 15.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im an acting manager of a warehouse in N Wales. Just had a new lad start with us. He's about 18, looking for a rent and beer money job. Can't fault the work he does (order picking/packing, tidying etc..) considering he's only been with us a few days.

Problem is: He literally will not stop talking! If I go anywhere near him, he starts babbling away like a deranged monkey! I've heard all about his brothers and sisters, the time he went to Eqypt with his family, I know the names of all his old pets as well as how long it takes him to go for a 'No.2'.....(he told me. 'do I think this is too much time'?) It's seriously got to the point where i have to go and hide at lunchtime so I can have some peace for 1/2 hr!

I have mentioned to him that he 'talks like an old woman on speed' and 'does he ever shut up'; all to no avail! He's harmless enough, as well as possibly being a few steps down from borderline 'learning disabled' (possible inability to develop social skills - nothing mentioned at interview or by the new guy), so I don't want to be mean to the guy.

Anyway. Boss wants a report from me on how the guys coming along. Like I said, can't fault his work but he's driving me nuts! It's a really small team at the warehouse (me + 1 other bloke who's off ill). It'll be pretty much my reccomendation that sees this guy stay or go.

What do i do? Bin a decent worker and risk winding up with someone who may not talk but works crap? Or stick with it but stay away from pointy objects.... :confused:

Sponsored Links
Eccentrics should be tolerated as long as they get the job done :)

I think the lad could be nervous and trying too hard to be likeable, I don't know but a friendly word is the best way to start and see how it goes