solar panels with thermal store

I have jsut installed a pair of Grant solar panels connected to a Gledhill Torrent SE thermal store, i seems to work very well. I intent to fit a small exhaust air heat pump (air to water) and connect that to the torrent. I was also intending to install a wood burner with boiler to replace my open fire (room heat only) but have decided to fit an esse 350 room heater stove without a boiler and allow the heat pump to reuse some of the generated heat. Hopefull that will make my oil boiler almost redundant.
I am a renewables installer and feel that this system will work well in my 25 year old house. The biggest problem with the thermal store is how to run it in the winter in a way which best utilises any solar energy as I normally run my heating 24hs through a programable room stat which will mean that the store will be required to be up to full working temperature a lot of the time.

There is a pipe stat on the solar circuit to hold off the boiler which may help a little. I'm also going to be installing a grant weather compensating mixer to the heating next week.

I've fitted plenty of solar installations and don't actually see the point of drainback systems a twin coil cylinder and a sealed solar circuit is a clean and simple method preferred by all the major manufacturers.

Just realised I've rambled on about myself in someone elses post, sorry :confused:

Sponsored Links
Evacuated tubes with what looks like a drain back system ?

Drainback will not prevent the panel from reaching very high temperatures (200C+) which if done regularly would shorten the lifespan.

The Navitron evacuated tubes (to take an example) are 'cooled' by the water flow in the manifold. Allowing them to heat up to temperatures in excess of 100 deg C and then blasting them with relatively cold water will result in thermal shock !.
For long-term reliability this would not be good.