1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Sub Consumer Unit

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by hard-work, 22 May 2020.

  1. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    2,574
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,921
    Thanks Received:
    2,730
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you mean a Dual-RCD (not 'high integrity') CU, then, if one RCD is adjacent to the main switch, then there's no need for "two cables rammed into a terminal" (or a 'purpose made lug').

    However, as I said, in the case of 'high integrity' CUs, there are often "two cables (plus a bus bar lug) rammed into a terminal" of the main switch ...
    upload_2020-5-23_2-50-11.png
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 23 May 2020
  4. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Again..
    • One Wylex CU, metal with eight single pole RCBs & one mainswitch incomer. Three years old.
    • No space either side or on top.
    • Only space under CU which can just fit another identical sized CU.
    • Needs a sub CU under using the mainswitch (incomer) of the top master CU to switch out both. (have only one mainswitch);
    • New sub CU will also be RCBOs, but the new DP.
    • The sub CU can accommodate ten RCBOs, as no incomer fitted.
     
    Last edited: 23 May 2020
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,691
    Thanks Received:
    3,439
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    You have been told several times.


    If you really cannot think of a way yourself, perhaps you should not be doing electrical work.
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,052
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Whale Island
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    One of these would do it.

    Quite tall, but smaller than two separate enclosures, and has one main switch feeding two busbars, each of which has its own sub-main switch or RCD, supplying the busbar which is fitted with MCBs or RCBOs depending on your whim.

    The number of circuits supported is the same number as OP said he wanted.
     
  7. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been? Only once by Sunray. Not you for sure. The only thing you have told is attitude.
     
    Last edited: 23 May 2020
  8. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,691
    Thanks Received:
    3,439
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well - my question regarding RCCBs should have led you to the answer.

    John has told you a couple of times.

    What is the difference between Sunray's suggestion and putting the wire itself in the terminal?
     
  11. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sunray's is a professional solution, which is the sort of thing I go for, one is not. Stuffing a 16mm or 25mm cable into an RCBO's terminal together with a bus bar lug is not my line.
    BTW, I doubt you have ever fitted stacked CUs, as they are rare. Using Sunray's suggestion is a professional work around without having to replace a three year old CU.
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,691
    Thanks Received:
    3,439
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Then you are deluded.

    Substitute connect properly for stuffed.

    What is the difference between connecting stacked CUs and any other arrangement?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,052
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Whale Island
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    It's easy to understand.
     
  14. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I like to keep things simple. :)
     
  15. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only deluded one is you. Stacked CUs have special arrangements to extend the tails from master CU to the slave CU - look at the Proteus brochure link I gave. You can see bits of it

    This has an existing three year old quality Wylex CU. If there a kit available to convert the CU into a slacked CU master? Maybe someone here knows. The idea was to fit an identical sub CU below because of space limitations, but how to do a work around giving a stacked arrangement was the problem. I could look at all the makers and I am sure one or two could provide dedicated master and slave stacked CUs, two of them....at an horrendous special order price I am sure. The extra cost would be in reality to only provide the interconnecting CU tails mechanism.

    Got a professional workaround thanks to Sunray, while keeping the existing CU - just converting it into the master CU simply. Then a new identical CU, which does not cost the earth, with ten slots for DP RCBOs.
     
    Last edited: 23 May 2020
  16. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,257
    Thanks Received:
    1,055
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What a nice person you are.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page