1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Take lighting circuit feed from PIR outside light?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by bandekk, 29 May 2010.

  1. bandekk

    bandekk

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Currently building a ground floor extension and am now looking at fitting the electrics. I have an outside PIR light, that is now inside following the extension build. This light is connected to a switch that allows this light to be on all the time, or just PIR mode.

    The question is, are there any problems in using the lighting feed from this outside light, or do I need to take it from another light in the house?

    thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you mean that you want to use this "outside light" to feed the lights in the extension? or do you mean you want to extend this feed and re-fit the light outside again?
     
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could do that but you would need to relocate the switch or make an connection to extend the cable.

    You cannot use a junction box or other junction with screw connections unless the box is accessible.

    Do not forget that all of the electrical works (including lighting) will probably require RCD protection.#



    But surely your electrician will be doing this?
    Or are you doing it yourself? If so, how did you say you would comply with P1 of Building Regulations when you made the application to the LABC?
     
  5. bandekk

    bandekk

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ideally I would like to use the feed for the lights in the extension, but also extend the light to be used on the outside of the extension.

    The whole house is on RCD, and I plan on getting an electrician to check the installation, or even make all the necessary connections. I basically just really need to know the cable routes I will be using so I can install this before insulating and plaster boarding the roof and walls.
     
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,553
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Registered electricians can only notify works they have carried out themselves. You will find it very hard to find someone who will sign off work they didn't have any input to and as a result you wont be able to get Building Regs completion on the whole project.
    Its like you fitting a gas boiler and then finding a Gas Safe (nee CORGI) plumber who will sign it off.
    Read what is involved on the WIKI at http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:part_p:diy_electrical_work_and_the_law

    You may be able to get an electrician to work with you but he will want to specify what cables go where and to check these before they are plastered over.

    PS the whole house SHOULD NOT be on a single RCD.
     
  7. bandekk

    bandekk

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I'll take some advice from an electrician.......

    p.s I didn't say the whole house was on a SINGLE RDC...
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,555
    Thanks Received:
    698
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How many lights are on the circuit already, and rating if over 100W?

    How many lights do you want in the extension, and rating if over 100W?

    There may simply not be enough spare capacity on the circuit.
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bandekk - this:
    Is extremely important.

    Nobody here gives a **** whether you comply with the Building Regulations or not, but an entire extension with no completion certificate could be bad news in the future - it could actually reduce the value of your house rather than increase it.

    And no certificate is what you will have if you do not do what you said you would regarding Part P, or if you tacitly accepted whatever your council said they required by not telling them anything different.
     
  11. bandekk

    bandekk

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FWIW, The building notice specific to my council has nothing about part P etc.. fairly straightforward form. Inspector has stated the obvious about electrical work needing to be certificated, all seems to be drifting away from the original question, but anyway no more worries for anyone..
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    £ to a p that on their website they say that all electrical work shall be done by a qualified electrician, or by one registered to self certify.


    Then you really should find out what he means by that, because there's a good chance that you forging ahead and then "getting an electrician to check the installation, or even make all the necessary connections" won't work.
     
  13. 1john

    1john

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know this has nothing much to do with your post but it is really important, more so than you currently imagine, as for your idea, how much extra work is it to take the wiring back to the consumer unit to add additional circuits for sockets, lights, cooker and any other circuits. Is you bonding and earthing up to date? How large is the extension, whats going in it?
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page