Tanaka Brushcutter won’t start

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I’m a novice at engines so trying to work my way around a small one. I bought a Tanaka TBC-2000 brushcutter that was advertised as not working. The guy I bought it from said it was working perfectly but fell over in the shed and wouldn’t start since. I went over to get it and he demonstrated the starting procedure and it worked first time, ran really well. By the time I had it home it wasn’t working again, pulled the cord and no coughing just nothing. I checked the spark plug which is fine, took covers off and cleaned everything, gave the carb a good spray with carb cleaner but didn’t take it apart, checked the fuel line and fuel filter which were fine, checked for spark arrester but none installed. Tried to start it again and it burst into life again, tried 2 or 3 times and it worked on the first pull. I then went to start it up in the morning and it didn’t work again. Same as before.

What should I try next? I‘m confused as to why it worked normally twice and then goes back to nothing. The only other thing I did before it started working the second time was to pull the fuel line through to the tank a bit more. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Does this machine have a primer bulb that you press? Make sure that it gets full of fuel after a few presses.
Always try to start these machines with a fully open throttle, hot or cold.
It could be an idea to remove the spark plug, turn the machine over with the recoil start to clear any excess fuel and then try again.......full choke, full throttle, pull it over until it fires once, then choke off and all should be well.
John

This one doesn't have a primer bulb. I tried the way you suggested but still no luck. I just saw that there is a slow fuel leak from somewhere so I suppose that might have something to do with it.