TP5000 to nest 3generation

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by kripy, 17 Nov 2021.

  1. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    hello Team
    I know there is an old topic about the same thing but I'm not sure I understand

    can you tell me if when I change I have to connect the tp5000 the brown and black cables or it is in yellow

    regards
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,033
    Thanks Received:
    10,115
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if that is indeed the nest that you have that you posted a pic of, that is a US one you need a UK one , that one is not suitable for UK
     
  4. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    i will use french model do you know where i connect because i waiting blackfriday for buy
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,033
    Thanks Received:
    10,115
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,754
    Thanks Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it’s just for a thermostat, I’d recommend a Nest e - these are 2 wire and would suit the location. If you’re after control of hot water and heating, or you want a learning thermostat, then go for the one @ianmcd has suggested.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    i buy suggest in black friday but when i receive where plug 2 wire ??
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    i receive
     

    Attached Files:

  10. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,847
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's picture looks like a Nest 3rd gen, although it doesn't appear to say Nest on the Heat link button. Maybe you have something different in France / Luxembourg?

    If it is a Nest 3rd gen, in the UK, the wiring terminals are normally as below.

    [​IMG]

    If yours is the same as above, the two wires in your existing thermostat go to terminals 2 'heating common' (brown wire) and 3 'heating call for heat' (black wire)

    Your old thermostat is battery powered, but the Nest Heat link is mains powered, so it also needs a 230V supply connecting to the N & L terminals. This should come from the same electrical connection that also supplies the boiler.

    If you are planning to connect the Nest thermostat to the T1 & T2 terminals to provide it with 12v (instead of a separate plug in power supply) then you will also need to provide an earth connection to the earth terminal.

    If you have something different, post back details of the wiring terminals.
     
  11. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    I am in a building.
    From what I understand, its mandatoy use heat link ?
    but i can t have >>> This should come from the same electrical connection that also supplies the boiler.
    i am in building with other with other apartments and shared boiler
     
    Last edited: 29 Nov 2021
  12. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,847
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Nest thermostat won't work without the Heat link, but the Heat link does need 230V power from somewhere. Here in the UK it should be from the same power supply as the boiler so that for maintenance one switch isolates everything. Perhaps that is not a requirement where you are, and you can connect it to an electricity supply from elsewhere. Or, is there perhaps an isolator somewhere that just switches off the power to the heating control of your apartment that you could use?

    If you had taken the advice of @CBW.....
    .....and bought a Nest-e (UK Version) you wouldn't have the same problem as it is battery operated the same as the your existing thermostat and would just use the same two wires.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. kripy

    kripy

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Luxembourg
    i think is better solution thermostat E it's really a shame the other one looks great with the added bonus of intelligence
     
  14. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,033
    Thanks Received:
    10,115
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    in your setup the nest simply opens a 2 port zone valve, the valve takes control of everything else, it does not get conected to the boiler in any way
     
Loading...

Share This Page