Transfer from Potterton EP 3000 to a HIVE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
View attachment 176979 View attachment 176971 View attachment 176979 View attachment 176971 Hi all
I hope some kind soul out there can help with this. I am a novice but willing to learn.
The whole concept of water heating systems and electricity is voodoo to me, but I have tried to educate myself with hours of internet research and I think I am getting there but I need some help and guidance with the last bit if possible.
I have a Grant oil fired boiler with a separate hot water cylinder and a room thermostat.
I have attached a picture of the current wiring and a schematic to make it easier to understand.
My assumptions are that;
Cable 1 - power
Cable 2 - boiler
Cable 3 - ?? Thermostat?
Cable 4 - hot water
Cable 5 - heating
My best guess going forwards to move to the HIVE is to;
Connect all N together
Connect terminal C together
Connect terminal D together
Connect terminal L together
Connect terminal 3 to Hive terminal 3
Connect terminal 4 to Hive terminal 4
Connect all Earth together.
Will this work or will I blow up?
Many thanks for anyone out there who can help :)

Attachments

• img_5899.jpg
    img_5899.jpg
    293.1 KB · Views: 302
  • img_5894.jpg
    img_5894.jpg
    261.2 KB · Views: 312
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I have tried to work out what you have, but have failed, for a boiler to do both central heating and domestic hot water (CH+DHW) there has to be some method of controlling the water flow, it could be switching a pump on for CH+DHW and not using pump with only DHW, or it could be a three port valve, or a couple of two port valves with the pump working as same time as boiler.