Twisting conductors or not?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm just wondering what people think, when I wire sockets, accessories e.t.c. I always twist conductors together with a pair of pliers before screwing into terminals, because I've seen many times cables that have come loose or aren't screwed in properly (especially when two conductors go into the same terminal.
I'm not a professional, have only ever done simple wiring in my own places, but it seems to me this is good practice, would anyone disagree, and why? I twist the earth cables together and use one sleeve also, just because its neater and doesn't waste so much sleeving

Sponsored Links
never, ever, ever twist the conductors on solid core cables. This is an 'old school' technique that is no longer used.

If you need to you can bend the conductors back individually but twisting them damages the cables.

Sponsored Links
never, ever, ever twist the conductors on solid core cables. This is an 'old school' technique that is no longer used.

If you need to you can bend the conductors back individually but twisting them damages the cables.

Yes, this is how it always used to be done, I've lived in lots of old houses, and always noticed that it was a much more fool-proof way of doing it. When people just screw the wires straight in without twisting or doubling over, it doesn't seem right

Wires are not twisted together, as it weakens the copper and makes it impossible to separate them later for testing.
It also takes far longer than fitting them properly, and the resulted twisted mess is larger than the single wires, making it more difficult to fit into smaller terminals.

If wires are falling out, then the terminal wasn't done up properly. Twisting things won't change that.

I twist the earth cables together and use one sleeve also, just because its neater and doesn't waste so much sleeving
Earth sleeving is about 5p per metre, the amount used for one wire at one socket is practically nothing.