Using tools but not for the purpose they were intended....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Following on from my post in the 'What have you been doing today' thread where I used my Karcher portable washer (that I use to wash the dog down with) filled with hot water to defrost my freezer as well as using my wife’s hairdryer to dry it in places where I couldn’t get with a towel, what tools have you used that were not intended for that particular purpose?

3B46B1A0-D6A6-4696-AA5A-B5F384E09313.jpeg
7A357DE7-E1F2-45D4-9A8A-94F2784EE67B.jpeg

Sponsored Links
Well years ago when I was an apprentice back in the 60's my old fitter told me before the Gas Board issued torches they used candles.
One day he was using one in a loft when he knocked over the candle which fell down in the lath and plaster cavity.
When he looked the bugger was still burning!
As he said, "I used the only tool I had to hand to put it out!":whistle:

I would think we have all used tools in a manner they were not designed for. LOL
How many have used a spanner as a hammer? Or a large screwdriver as a small crowbar and cursed when it bent under pressure.
Must admit I have never done what my older cousin did once. He tried to use a square file as a lever. The file snapped and a piece flew up and embedded itself in his cheek. Trip to hospital, 2 stiches inside his mouth, 2 stitches in his cheek and a strong lecture off the doctor to only use a too for it's intended purpose in future. LOL

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW
I can't imagine there's anyone who has done any decorating not using a screwdriver to open tins of paint.

Stanley knife as wire strippers.

Teeth to open a screwcap.

cotton buds to clean your ears.

Mobile phone as airgun target practise.

etc etc.

Sponsored Links
A guy who bothered me for months to come and learn the job on his very first day when i eventually caved in, used my trusted caliper as a hammer.