Voltage drop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not an electrician and wondered if anyone can explain why voltage drop is an issue in the following case:-
A 50mm sq two core cable (earth rods at each end), 500m long from the remote meter box to my Farm supplying 230Vac single phase.
If all my equiptment will work fine at 220Vac (and considering the supply has a +/- voltage tolerance that could realistically go down to that), then what is the real issue and why could it be a problem?

Sponsored Links
The problem with voltage drop is that at the origin (where the meter is), the voltage can be in the range 216 - 253. (230V, -6% or +10%).
While equipment should function correctly in that range, excessively long cables in the installation will cause the voltage to drop even further.

If for example, the volt drop within the installation was 20V, this could mean that the voltage at the end was as low as 196V.
Items designed for 230 or 240V are not likely to work well, or at all at 196V.
Lights will be very dim, motors might not run properly or even start at all. Heating appliances will operate at a lower temperature and therefore take a lot longer to heat the water/air etc.
In extreme cases, the current which would flow in the event of a fault might not be enough to cause the circuit breaker or fuse to operate.

Assuming 100 amp fuse it will take around 2 seconds for it to blow with a short circuit and you will have a 40 volt volt drop. And when you get near maximum load 4Kw of power is heating the ground. Someone is paying for that! Who depends where the meter is and what type of meter. The old ones worked out power used based on 230V so you would pay.
But the alternative is to get the supply authority to extend their high voltage cables and provide a transformer close to point of usage which they are not likely to do for nothing.
So why do you think it is an issue?

A 50mm 2c swa has a resistive volt drop of 0.93 mV/A/m. (millivolts per amp per metre)