Wiring mains powered wireless smoke detectors

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by indus, 19 May 2012.

  1. indus

    indus

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there.

    Before I can get my recent loft conversion signed off by building control I need to satisfy the fire regs.

    One of the options is mains powered and interconnected (can be wireless) smoke detectors in the habitable rooms.

    My concern with this option was hacking the ceilings of rooms. Having looked at some of these devices on line I see they can be powered from a local ceiling light rather than running a whole new electrical supply there.

    If I can get to the wiring of the light in each room by lifting the floorboards of the room above would this mean these could be installed without any hacking of the ceilings?

    In other words all done from the floor space of the room above?

    Thanks very much
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have access to a floor void above the ceiling then conventional hard wired mains interconnected smoke alarms can be installed without damage to your ceiling.

    Have BC asked for one in every habitable room?

    Is this just a standard house with a loft conversion, or is it a HMO?
     
  4. indus

    indus

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks.

    I can access the void space but using wireless would still make life a lot easier. Getting power from the local light circuit is one thing but hard wiring all the detectors together across different floors of the house would be a lot more work.

    It is just a domestic house not hmo etc but BC have asked for this in every habitable room. They do give other options like changing all doors to habitable rooms to firecheck doors. However since it is a period house I would really like to retain the original doors.

    Thanks for your advice.
     
  5. AssociatedAlarm

    AssociatedAlarm

    Joined:
    12 May 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aico do a hard wired , wireless interconnected smoke/heat detection system. As you note you need to get a supply form a light fitting. But not to each other.
    Fine on a domestic, dubious on a HMO IMHO.

    They also do a all battery system wireless interconnected.

    Easy to install and no mess.

    Check to see if this is allowed.
     
  6. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also, you'll need to find out how your lighting circuit(s) are wired. There's not forced to be a permanant live at your light fittings.
     
  7. AssociatedAlarm

    AssociatedAlarm

    Joined:
    12 May 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. indus

    indus

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Battery powered is not acceptable to BC I'm afraid.

    I don't understand what you guys mean by the no 'permanent live' at the lights comment.

    Are you saying there might not be a live wire feeding the lights??
     
  10. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    6,119
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There might be a switched live, not a permanent one.
     
  11. lee2009

    lee2009

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    682
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes. you might have switched live, meaning if your light switch is off you have no power at the light fitting - thats what i think anyway.
     
  12. indus

    indus

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I see what you mean now :)

    I suppose it's unlikely that all lights to all rooms on the first and ground floor would have a permanent live then?
     
  13. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    6,119
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's probably quite likely there is a live and they are wired loop-in but better to check.
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page