1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

wiring up a double oven and hob

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by tamgunner, 16 Sep 2012.

  1. tamgunner

    tamgunner

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys I have just bought a double oven rated at 5.1kw no idea what the hob is rated at I'm taken out a freestanding cooker. Could I run the oven and hob off the one outlet? The current cooker is on a 32amp mcb can I change it to a 40amp would that be ok? I have no idea what the cable from the cu to the outlet is tho is that an issue?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,250
    Thanks Received:
    1,218
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Search cooker diversity and you'll get loads of advice.
     
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,105
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lucky you!
    You need to find out and come back with the information
    Need more information re hob and the circuit before replying
    Notr unless you have accurate test equipment that can test the EFLI of the circuit and have made a detailed survey of the cable route to determine the current-carrying capacity of the circuit.
    Too blooming right it is an issue, You need to determine the csa of the cable as well.

    So you are saying something like
    "I am going to buy a car, how fast will it go along a road"

    So, need to know about the car, and need to know about the road.

    The same applies here


    More information = more help.
     
  5. tamgunner

    tamgunner

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How am I going to find out what the cable is between the cu and outlet when ythe cable is under the floor!! And there is no info on the hob about the rating there isn't even a model number
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,786
    Thanks Received:
    3,999
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It has two ends. We will presume the middle is the same.

    How did the shop know how much to charge you?
     
  8. tamgunner

    tamgunner

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Haha u should be on stage!!!!!
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,786
    Thanks Received:
    3,999
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  10. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,559
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If and that's a big if the house is designed correct and you don't do anything daft like change a fuse/MCB to a bigger one then if the load is too high the fuse/MCB will open. i.e. fails safe.

    The problem arises where the installation relies on fans to cool the hob or oven as once the fuse/MCB has opened then you lose cooling so it can overhead.

    Also when one supplies an item with 7.4kW (32 amp) and the item is only designed for 3.7kW (16 amp) then under fault conditions the fuse/MCB may not open before a fire is started.

    Most of the house uses a 13A supply with a plug and socket arrangement and the rules say where a over current device smaller than 13A is required it is built into the equipment. But an oven, hob, immersion heater, bathroom fan and the like is fixed not portable so these rules do not apply. Because of the problems of high power in the kitchen and water in the bath room these have been designated as special areas and most more needs to be registered with LABC.

    The question of how do I find out is a good one. In the main we check the cable into the isolator in the kitchen and out of consumer unit and if they are the same we assume there are no joints. As to route we have to assume unless we can see to the contrary that originally it was wired correct and we continue to use the same MCB/fuse as before.

    With 4 or 6 mm sq we would assume with a 32 amp protection device we are already on the maximum. With 10 mm sq cable we may investigate further and see if we can uprate the fuse.

    Other than flex cable does not have an amps rating. The amps it can carry depends on the route.
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page