Accreditation, notifiable work & other legislative pitfa

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm about to start working for myself and wondered if you guys could help...

I'm a plumber and have a good idea what I can and can't do without a competent persons scheme (it seems I can't join one until I've got 5 years under my belt) but I'm also doing a bit of general building maintenance.

Is there a comprehensive list anywhere of things that are/aren't notifiable works? I'm confident with roofing, putting up stud walls, decorating etc and learning about the rest as I go.

I'm about to do a job re-painting a friends house and want to advertise off my tower scaffold, but not if it's going to get me into trouble. Do I need permission to block the pavement for an afternoon?

I'm getting the insurance sorted and obviously will be paying tax on my earnings but knowing what I'm not allowed to do seems like a minefield!

I'm also unsure whether I can fit solar thermal without accreditation. I have the relevant qualifications and could get a friendly plumber to sign off any new cylinder.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
I'm about to do a job re-painting a friends house and want to advertise off my tower scaffold, but not if it's going to get me into trouble. Do I need permission to block the pavement for an afternoon?
You will need a permit from the local Council if you are going to obstruct the pavement. I doubt if you will need a permit for your advertising board.

Read this:

Anyone intending to erect a scaffold or a hoarding, which encroaches on to a public road or pavement, is required under Section 169 of the Highways Act 1980 to obtain a licence from the Council. If permission is granted a licence will be issued together with a schedule of conditions that must be adhered to.