Am I allowed to open boilers?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. I am an electrician.

A regular part of my work is supplying new and existing boilers with electricity and control.

To do this obviously the cover needs to be removed to get access to the connections inside the boiler.

Here's the question. Am I legally allowed to do this being a non gas safe type person, or am I ok as I'm not tinkering with the combustion chamber or any of the gas bits?

Please be gentle. :LOL:

Sponsored Links
Yes and No. ;)

Some boilers the case is the combustion seal.

I wowuld expect an RGI would open and later close a boiler to enable you to make connections.

He would then be able to ensure its gas safe and then test the system works correctly.

Tony

So are you saying I need to employ an RGI every time I require access to the electrical connections inside a boiler?

Sponsored Links
So are you saying I need to employ an RGI every time I require access to the electrical connections inside a boiler?

Technically no, But you need to verify on each specific boiler. Which means you may need to employee an RGI everytime to verify for you.

Wouldnt the RGI be employing you to connect up electrically?

Not really. Here's some recent examples.

Bloke rings me up having drilled through a cable. It was the cable to the room stat. In drilling it it had gone with a bang, tripped the RCD and also blown a fuse inside the boiler.

I can't do that repair without an RGI?

An old lady had a heating system with a wireless programmable roomstat which she found too difficult to use. She wanted a mechanical clock and room stat in it's place which I did. To alter the control wiring to the boiler I also need an RGI here?

Often the boiler is put on the wall with a 3 core flex attatched which the plubmer has used to test the boiler. I then need to remove the control link in the boiler and connect the control up. I also need an RGI for this?